Yolanda Griffith, FAU and WNBA legend, inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame – UNIVERSITY PRESS

Griffith had an illustrious professional career and was named one of the WNBA’s 15 All-Time Best Players.

Photo courtesy of FAU Athletics.

Former FAU women’s basketball star and WNBA legend Yolanda Griffith was inducted into the 2021 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, the Hall of Fame ad Sunday morning.

Griffith dominated FAU before embarking on a worldwide professional career where she became one of the best rebounders and defensive players in the history of professional women’s basketball.

In Griffith’s only season at FAU in 1992, she guided the Owls to a 20-8 record and their fourth regional appearance. Despite playing just 22 games, Griffith broke several school records in one season, including scoring averages (28.2), total points per game (621), field goal percentage ( 0.631), rebounds per game (16.0) and total rebounds (352) as she was named NCAA Division II Kodak All-American Player of the Year. Griffith was inducted into the university’s Hall of Fame in 2006.

After graduating, Griffith played professionally in Germany from 1993 to 1997. In 1997 Griffith was the top scorer and rebounder in the Women’s Euroleague. After his Euroleague career, Griffith returned to the United States to play for two years in the American Basketball League. After his stint with the ABL, Griffith was the Sacramento Monarchs’ second pick in the 1999 WNBA Draft.

Griffith immediately caused a stir at the pro level, winning WNBA MVP, Newcomer of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year in his rookie season with the Monarchs. In 2005, she led the team to their only title and was named the WNBA Finals MVP in a 3-1 series victory over the Connecticut Sun.

During her 11-year WNBA career, Griffith was eight WNBA All-Star and was named to two All-WNBA first teams and three All-WNBA second teams. She was a two-time WNBA rebound champion. At halftime of the 2011 WNBA All-Star Game in San Antonio, Griffith was honored as one of the top 15 WNBA players of all time in a celebration of the greatest players from the first 15 years of the league history.

In addition to his professional accolades, Griffith played for the United States team, helping the team win gold medals at the 2000 Summer Olympics in Sydney, Australia, and 2004 in Athens, Greece.

Griffith will be enrolled on September 11 in a historic class that includes legends of women’s and men’s football. Three-time WNBA MVP Lauren Jackson will be inducted along with Griffith, along with former WNBA President Val Ackerman. The NBA Class of 2021 is titled by Chris Bosh, Chris Webber, Paul Pierce and Ben Wallace.

Michael Gennaro is the social media manager of the University Press. For more information regarding this story or others, send an email [email protected] or send him a message on Twitter or Instagram @mycoolgennaro.

About Kimberly Alley

Check Also

Local referees and referees enjoy the match day experience

Palm Beach County basketball officials Mark DeAtley, John Fouchet and Darin DeCosta. When sports stories …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.